There’s Always Something…


990108468_062There’s always something…to be grateful for. In each situation, no matter how dire it may seem at the time, there is a hidden door for you to open if you choose to. Let me give you an example.

When my grandfather died, my grandmother was lost. He was her constant companion, but the one thing he never liked to do as travel. “Traveling” to my grandfather meant a day trip to Bear Mountain or a day at the beach. I think they stayed in a motel overnight once, when they went to an out-of-town wedding, but I’m not sure.

Anyway, after my grandfather was gone, my grandmother thought to herself “Okay, I miss him but life goes on”.

And her life did go on…to Europe (where she met the Pope) and to Hawaii and California and all over Canada. She now went to see her sister who lived in Miami four times a year; when my grandfather was alive her sister would always have to make the trip to New York because my grandfather never wanted to go anywhere.

My grandmother saw a “window” of opportunity and she grabbed it. She died happy, twenty two years later, and we always got some great souvenirs.

So look for your “window” Look for your “door” and you’ll find one.

Leave a Reply

